Becoming a realtor is a lot like joining AAA but costs more….

People who are licensed who sell real estate are referred to as: brokers, agents, real estate agents and REALTORS. (At times often described with other adjectives, but we can all leave that to your imagination.) The terms all mean the same thing to the average person. They are used simultaneously to describe the person you hire to help you buy, sell or rent real estate.

THE WORD REALTOR IS TRADEMARKED. IF YOU ARE NOT A REALTOR YOU CAN GET IN BIG TROUBLE IF YOU DECIDE TO CALL YOURSELF ONE!

The agent below found out the hard way.

http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?t=77209

No worries…any licensed agent or broker can become a realtor. If you pay. Becoming a realtor is like joining the auto club, AAA. sycs_aaa202

As a broker I when I sign my agency up for the Board of Realtors, I pay a one time registration fee, then I pay yearly dues. This averages about $800.00-$1000.00 a year, depending on which city or town I join. Once I become a Realtor office it means all of the agents in my office have to join the board. Kind of a pyramid scheme since no one has a choice once your brokerage is a member. Agent dues average about $500.00-$700.00 per year. Once you are a member you can say your a REALTOR, and get little perks invitations to lunches, educational opportunities. (Most of these are open to non Realtors too) It is like an expensive AAA card.

One who becomes a realtor takes an oath to be honest and abide by all of these rules and guidelines. You as a consumer have the assurance that when you work with a Realtor you are only working with the best most honest person etc, etc.. All nonmember Realtors adhere to the same rules and guidelines. (they however have just saved a bunch of money and then can in turn spend more money marketing your property)

I am not casting a judgment for or against Realtors just offering up my two cents, on why I don’t agree with the way they have their current memberships set. Many amazing, successful agents and brokers are Realtors and many are not.

Truthfully does anyone really care if you’re a realtor or not as long as you are a productive agent who get the job done??

Education, experience, honesty and productivity are the key factors that make a successful agent or broker.

I think I now have been inspired to create my own professional organization for agents and brokers. I promise I will not charge you too much to join……

Leave a Reply

