The old man and his poppies outside Walmart.

Memorial Day….

I too get caught up in the marking of the start of summer.  I was spending the weekend biking until a sign on the side of the road brought me back to reality.

It had the name of a young solider who had died in the war.  He was in his early twenties.  He was killed last year in the line of duty.

Earlier this week again I was reminded of Memorial Day when I saw an older man sitting outside Walmart with poppies collecting money for vets.

I wondered to myself what the old man was thinking of how much America has changed in his lifetime?

No matter what we think we owe veterans and soldiers respect. Memorial Day is their day.

Leave a Reply

